Getting Started With the ARE

 Architect Registration Examination 

In order to take the ARE, you must:  


You should always contact your registration board directly to verify the requirements to gain access to the ARE.

Establishing Your Eligibility to Test

To begin taking the ARE, you must make a request via the ARE tab in your NCARB Record. Your board of architecture will deem you eligible (or via NCARB for boards participating in NCARB's Direct Registration Program), and your board will set your eligibility information in My Examination.

You will receive an automated e-mail notification when you are made eligible to take the ARE and have been granted access to My Examination.

Scheduling an Exam

Candidates may take the ARE divisions in any order, and at any time and Prometric location they choose (subject to availability). Most test centers are open six days a week, 50 weeks a year. [more]

Paying for the ARE

The cost of the ARE is $1,470 for seven divisions. For international test centers (outside of North America), the cost of the ARE is $2,170 for seven divisions. These fees are non-refundable. [more]

ARE 4.0 Divisions

The ARE consists of seven divisions that include multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, and check-all-that-apply questions as well as graphic vignettes. [more]

Related Publications


ARE Guidelines
Updated July 2015! The ARE 4.0 Guidelines is essential reading for anyone preparing for the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®). The document includes an overview of the exam divisions as well as the exam program, the rolling clock, exam eligibility, and five steps to taking and completing the ARE.

Download (PDF, 2,148K)

Related Content

Ready to Take the ARE?
If you have an active NCARB Record and have fulfilled all of your jurisdiction’s requirements, you can place your request to take the ARE through the “My NCARB” section of our website. It’s quick and easy!

Establish an NCARB Record
Learn how to establish an NCARB Record.

Related FAQs

When is the computer-based exam given?

You have the opportunity to test in any order at any time you choose once you have been approved to take the exam. Test centers are open Monday through Saturday, but hours may vary from test center to test center. Contact the test center of your choice to determine their hours of operation. Visit Prometric's website to find a test center near you.

Who develops the ARE?

The development of the ARE is a lengthy process that involves thousands of hours of work by hundreds of volunteer architects from all over the United States and Canada. Several times a year, the various exam committees meet to write questions, evaluate scoring engines, and make recommendations related to the long-term future of the ARE.

How do I locate a test center?

The ARE is administered at approximately 300 standardized test centers across the United States, Canada, and select International locations (Fall 2013). Test location information and options will be displayed when you schedule your exam divisions via My Examination.