Jury Named for Inaugural NCARB Prize

The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards has named the following individuals to its jury for the NCARB Prize, a two-tiered awards program that recognizes excellence in architectural education and practice. Six individuals comprising the Council’s Practice-Education Task Force will serve on the jury: Peter Steffian, FAIA, Chair, Massachusetts; David Mohney, AIA, Kentucky; Janet White, FAIA, Maryland; John C. Wyle, AIA, Georgia; Cornelius “Kin” DuBois, AIA, Colorado; Michiel M. Bourdrez, AIA, NCARB Staff.

Chosen by NCARB’s regional leadership, six deans/chairs of NAAB-accredited architectural programs will also serve on the jury. They are: William J. Mitchell, FRAIA, Dean, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Region 1); Gary Hack, Ph.D., AICP, Dean, University of Pennsylvania (Region 2); Daniel Bennett, FAIA, NCARB, Dean, Auburn University (Region 3); Douglas Kelbaugh, FAIA, Chair, University of Michigan (Region 4); John C. Gaunt, FAIA, Dean, University of Kansas (Region 5); and William C. Miller, FAIA, Dean, University of Utah (Region 6).

The inaugural NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy will recognize those academic programs that best emphasize the continuum between practice and education. A total of six cash awards will be presented: five prizes of $7,500 and a grand prize of $25,000. Honorable mentions may also be named at the discretion of the NCARB Prize jury.

Architecture schools with NAAB-accredited degree programs have been invited to submit established projects, completed or in progress by the end of the fall 2001 semester, that demonstrate creative initiatives that bring together the academy and the profession within the studio curriculum. Acceptable work may include comprehensive studio projects, community deign charrettes, and other joint venues for practitioner, faculty and student interaction. Practice areas serve as the basis for the award and may include, but are not limited to, the following: leadership; ethical, social, economic, political and legal aspects; public benefit; project development; practice management; issues of infrastructure/context; allied/affiliate professionals; and building systems.

Finalists for the six cash awards will be announced during the annual meeting of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) in New Orleans in March 2002. The grand prize winner as well as the recipients of the five $7,500 awards will then be named during NCARB’s June 2002 Annual Meeting and Conference in Boston.

For more information regarding the program, please contact Michiel M. Bourdrez, AIA. You may download the [NCARB Prize application] available in PDF Format.