University of Detroit Mercy Wins $25,000 NCARB Grand Prize

1 July 2002

The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards is pleased to announce that the University of Detroit Mercy has won the $25,000 grand prize in the 2002 NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy competition. During NCARB's recent conference in Boston, Massachusetts, UDM's entry detailing the Detroit Collaborative Design Center was honored for its community outreach in urban settings throughout the United States.

As envisioned by former Council president Peter Steffian, FAIA, the NCARB Prize recognizes the creative integration of architectural education and practice. Architecture schools with NAAB accredited degree programs were invited to submit established projects, completed or in progress by the end of the fall 2001 semester, that demonstrated creative initiatives that bring together the academy and the profession within the studio curriculum.

The Detroit Collaborative Center was founded in 1994 as a nonprofit organization for applied research in architectural design and neighborhood development. The Design Center, which has a full-time staff of architects, intern architects, and planners, provides design services for nonprofit community organizations. Students are involved in the Center in a variety of ways including participating in the Neighborhood Design Studio, co-op experiences, directed studies, research and as volunteers.

A jury comprising the members of the Council's Practice Education Task Force and five deans of NAAB-accredited architectural programs, chosen by NCARB's regional leadership, selected six overall winners from 48 entries. The other NCARB Prize winning submissions—from Arizona State University, Auburn University, Miami University, North Carolina State University, and the University of Pennsylvania—each received a $7,500 cash award.

The 2002 NCARB Prize jury members were: Janet White, FAIA, jury chair; Peter Steffian, FAIA; David Mohney, AIA; John C. Wyle, AIA; Cornelius "Kin" DuBois, AIA; Gary Hack, Ph.D., AICP, Dean, University of Pennsylvania; Daniel Bennett, FAIA, NCARB, Dean, Auburn University; Douglas Kelbaugh, FAIA, Dean, University of Michigan; John C. Gaunt, FAIA, Dean, University of Kansas; William C. Miller, FAIA, Dean, University of Utah. Michiel M. Bourdrez, AIA, director, professional services, served as the staff liaison to the NCARB Prize jury.


The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ membership is made up of the architectural registration boards of all 50 states as well as those of the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. NCARB assists its member registration boards in carrying out their duties and provides a certification program for individual architects.

NCARB protects the public health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of the practice of architecture through the development and application of standards for licensure and credentialing of architects. In order to achieve these goals, the Council develops and recommends standards to be required of an applicant for architectural registration; develops and recommends standards regulating the practice of architecture; provides to Member Boards a process for certifying the qualifications of an architect for registration; and represents the interests of Member Boards before public and private agencies. NCARB has established reciprocal registration for architects in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.


Related Content

The Prestige of the NCARB Prize
Three project directors of past recipients of the $25,000 Grand Prize reflected on their experience entering the competition and how receiving the NCARB Grand Prize benefited their architectural programs.

The University of Kansas Wins $25,000 NCARB Grand Prize
NCARB is pleased to announce that the University of Kansas has won the $25,000 grand prize in the 2003 NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy competition.