NCARB Prize Winners Vie for $25,000 Award

Washington, DC—Six entries, submitted by seven schools of architecture, have recently been named winners in the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards' 2003 competition for the NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy. One entry will be awarded the $25,000 grand prize at NCARB's Annual Meeting and Conference in late June 2003 in San Antonio, TX. The remaining five entries will each receive a $7,500 cash award.

The 2003 NCARB Prize winning entries were submitted by:

  • Clemson University: The urban community outreach program of the Clemson School of Architecture's Center at Charleston is recognized for its depth, breadth, and history of accomplishment. The NCARB Prize jury believes the Clemson entry sets a high standard for this kind of program.
  • Mississippi State University: A curriculum initiative introducing the realities of practice to first-year design students comprises the entry submitted by Mississippi State University's School of Architecture. The jury fully encourages this work-in-progress.
  • Pennsylvania State University/University of Washington: The Penn State and UW architectural programs have combined resources and created a rural community outreach program involving practitioners from around the country. The jury recognizes this entry's noteworthy presentation and excellent photos and graphics.
  • University of Maryland: The University of Maryland entry is honored for its practice-based design studio involving multiple firms, which represents a thorough integration of practice-education components based on real projects. The jury celebrates this entry's genuine sense of humanness.
  • University of Kansas: The University of Kansas submission presents an ongoing program where students both design and build projects. Their work is integrated with construction rather than architectural practice. The jury believes this sustained program with a proven track record raises the bar relative to design.
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute: The Virginia Tech entry details a technically innovative solution to sustainable architecture. The jury notes the project's well defined goals and its clearly realized solution.
As envisioned by former Council president Peter Steffian, FAIA, the NCARB Prize recognizes excellence and innovation in the integration of architectural education and practice. Architecture schools with NAAB accredited degree programs were invited to submit established projects, completed or in progress by the end of the fall 2002 semester, that demonstrated creative initiatives that bring together the academy and the profession within the studio curriculum.

Forty-nine entries were juried for the 2003 NCARB Prize competition. Speaking on behalf of the NCARB Prize jury, Past President Steffian (2001) said, "The second year of the NCARB Prize competition has unleashed another amazing group of diverse projects. We are very pleased, once again, with the high quality of the winning programs. Our grand prize winner, who will receive $25,000, has been chosen by secret ballot and will be revealed at the NCARB Annual Meeting."

The 2003 NCARB Prize jury comprises the members of the Council's Practice Education Task Force and six deans (or department heads) of NAAB-accredited architectural programs chosen by NCARB's regional leadership. Task force members are: Janet White, FAIA, jury chair, Maryland; David Mohney, AIA, Kentucky; Peter T.S. Rasmussen, FAIA, Washington; Barbara Sestak, AIA, Oregon; Peter Steffian, FAIA, Massachusetts; and John Carter Wyle, AIA, Georgia.

Invited deans/department heads are Howard E. Goldstein, AIA, Department Head, Wentworth Institute; Karen Van Lengen, AIA, Dean, University of Virginia; James L. West, FAIA, Dean, Mississippi State University; Mark C. Engelbrecht, FAIA, Dean, Iowa State University; R. Wayne Drummond, FAIA, Dean, University of Nebraska; and Greg Kessler, Director, Washington State University.

Michiel M. Bourdrez, AIA, director, professional services, served as the staff liaison to the NCARB Prize jury.

The NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy was first initiated in the fall of 2001. The Prize is inspired by the Carnegie Foundation report, Building Community: A New Future for Architectural Education and Practice, written by Lee D. Mitgang and the late Ernest L. Boyer in 1996.

For more information about the 2003 NCARB Prize winners, please contact Michiel M. Bourdrez, AIA (202/879-0528).