NCARB Member Boards Approve Four Resolutions at Annual Meeting

Washington, DC—All 54 of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ (NCARB) member registration boards were present in Chicago, IL, last week for the Council’s 90th Annual Meeting and Conference. Attendees heard updates on the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®) content disclosure issues, changes to the Intern Development Program (IDP), and plans for the new NCARB web site.

Director, ARE Erica Brown, AIA, gave a presentation to the full delegation on the recent content disclosure issues surrounding the ARE. She outlined the significance of the problem and compared examples of actual test questions with the information posted on online forums, blogs, and other web sites by candidates. In April, the NCARB Board of Directors disciplined eight candidates for content disclosure. An additional candidate’s actions will be reviewed at the next Committee on Professional Conduct meeting, and 29 other candidates are currently under investigation.

NCARB President Gordon E. Mills, FAIA, announced a $40 security and development fee that will be applied to each division of the ARE scheduled on or after 1 October 2009. Currently, the cost of developing the ARE is heavily subsidized by other NCARB services. The new fee structure will help offset the cost to replace lost content as a result of exam disclosure, monitor the exam’s security, and pay legal fees. However, it still falls far short of the actual cost of developing and administering the exam.

The meeting also provided an opportunity for the registration boards to discuss and approve four resolutions. Delegates voted to apply the five-year rolling clock to ARE divisions passed prior to 1 January 2006 (including all paper-based exams prior to 1997). These divisions will remain valid until 1 July 2014. Also, effective 1 January 2011, exam candidates must take a division of the ARE (pass or fail) once every five years to keep their authorizations to test valid. Candidates whose authorizations have become invalid will need to establish a new eligibility under the then current procedures of their registration boards.

Delegates approved a resolution that will allow the phase-in of IDP 2.0 to begin on 1 July 2009. The initial phase of IDP 2.0 will allow interns to complete activities in the Emerging Professionals Companion (EPC), which will count toward minimum required training units. Training units will become training hours in January 2010. Training areas will become experiences areas that were identified in the 2007 Practice Analysis of Architecture and work settings will be simplified in January 2011. More information on the IDP 2.0 experience areas will be available later this summer.

Also, portions of the NCARB Education Standard will be moved to a new document called the Education Guidelines to make it easier to update programs such as the Broadly Experienced Architect (BEA) Program and Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect (BEFA) Program and to adapt to changing National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) procedures and requirements.

Delegates also approved clarification to the definition of “responsible control” in NCARB Model Law in order to address the emergence of Integrated Project Delivery (IPD) and Building Information Modeling (BIM) technology. NCARB committees and task forces will continue to review and discuss IPD and BIM in the coming years.

The text for all four resolutions approved at the meeting can be reviewed on the NCARB web site at:

Another notable event of the week was the installation of the FY10 Board of Directors (BOD). Andrew W. Prescott, AIA of Potomac, MD and Keeseville, NY, was installed as President. Other officers and directors elected at the meeting were: Kenneth J. Naylor, AIA (First Vice President/President-elect); Scott C. Veazey, AIA (Second Vice President); Mark I. Aspaas, AIA (Treasurer); Blakely C. Dunn, AIA (Secretary); Gordon E. Mills, FAIA (Past President); Margo P. Jones, AIA, LEED AP (Director, Region 1); J. Everette Fauber III, AIA (Director, Region 2); Dennis S. Ward, AIA (Director, Region 3); Dale McKinney, AIA (Director, Region 4); Thomas R. Wood, AIA (Director, Region 5); Gregory L. Erny, AIA (Director, Region 6); Cynthia J. McKim (Member Board Executive Director); and Ava J. Abramowitz, Hon. AIA (Public Director).

Related Content

Summary Report of Vote on Resolutions at NCARB’s Annual Meeting and Conference
During the NCARB's Annual Meeting and Conference in Chicago, IL, delegates representing all of the Council's 54 Member Boards that oversee the practice of architecture voted on four resolutions brought forth by the NCARB Board of Directors.