NCARB Solicits Architect Registration Examination Test Vendor Request For Information

Washington, DC—NCARB is soliciting vendor information to determine qualified bidders for the three functional categories of vendor services for the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®).

The ARE is the registration examination required for architectural licensure by all 54 U.S. Member Boards. Additionally, some Canadian provincial and territorial architectural associations utilize the ARE for completing the examination requirement for licensure.

The ARE assesses candidates for their knowledge, skills, and ability to provide the various services required in the practice of architecture. The exam consists of seven divisions that assess a candidate’s proficiency using both multiple-choice items and graphic vignette simulations. Currently, the ARE is administered in the United States and Canada. Approximately 35,000 divisions are administered per year.

NCARB is looking for vendors that can fulfill one or more of the following functional categories:

Content Management

Interested parties will propose a system and solution for supporting the creation of content, managing content, creating test forms, and delivering content to the test site vendor for delivery. The system must also support the return of test results from the test site vendor for purposes of scoring and item analysis and the export of scored results to candidate management vendor.

Site Management

The vendor will operate and maintain secure, high-stakes test centers. The system must support linear test form delivery as well as NCARB’s custom performance-based graphic software. The system must support the delivery of item responses to the content management vendor.

Candidate Management

Qualifying parties will propose a system and solution to maintain a database of eligible candidates who register to take the ARE, record test appointments and test results, manage and enforce retesting rules, issue final composite score reports to Member Boards, and keep an archival record of all candidate test activity.

Interested vendors should contact Director, Architect Registration Examination Erica J. Brown, AIA, NCARB, in writing at for more information or with any questions by 1 December 2010.

Schedule Overview:
1 December 2010 – Questions from vendors due
15 December 2010 – Interested vendors will receive written response to all submitted questions
31 December 2010 – RFI Response Date
January 2011 – Selection of qualified bidders
February-May 2011 – Requests for proposals
July 2011 – Contracts awarded (anticipated)

The selection of qualified bidders will occur in January 2011, and the formal request for proposals will begin in February 2011. NCARB anticipates awarding the contracts in July 2011. Once the contracts are awarded, integration efforts will begin as necessary in order to meet the operation delivery goal of 1 July 2013.

For more information on the ARE and NCARB, visit our web site at

Related Content

Learn about the history of the ARE and how it is developed.

ARE History
NCARB produced the first national exam for architects in 1965.

ARE 4.0 Divisions
The ARE consists of seven divisions that can be taken in any order.