Three Architecture Schools Awarded NCARB Grants

26 January 2011

Washington, DC—Architecture schools at three U.S. universities are recipients of the 2010 NCARB Grant, a monetary award from the National Council of Architectural Registration Board (NCARB) to support new projects that further the integration of education and practice.

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona was awarded $4,000; and the University of Hawaii at Mānoa and North Carolina State University received $3,000 each. The awards total $10,000.

The NCARB Grant for the Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy is awarded annually to schools to implement new for-credit curricular initiatives that integrate practice and education. Grants are awarded to programs that desire to turn good ideas that might involve risk into reality; have a long-term impact on students, faculty, the curriculum, and the profession; and give other schools high-quality ideas for initiating new programs. To be eligible, schools must be located in an NCARB Member Board jurisdiction with programs accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) or programs that are candidates for NAAB accreditation.

2010 Grant Recipients
The proposal submitted by the California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, pairs teams of students with architects and city officials through a joint venture between the school's department of architecture, the architectural firm of HMC Architects based in Los Angeles, the city of San Diego, and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Students will design, assist in construction planning, and then analyze the performance of two dwellings to replace those destroyed by raging wildfires on public land in San Diego County in 2007. Goals for the structures are reduced environmental impact and maintenance costs, greater durability, and fire resistance.

By engaging an architectural firm already providing services on its campus, the School of Architecture at North Carolina State University plans to expose students to numerous professional practice experiences. The firm—Pearce Brinkley Cease & Lee, based in Raleigh, NC—is designing the new home for the university's library, and will provide students a meeting space in its office and will appoint a non-faculty architect to be the firm's "instructor" once a week. Twelve students will study best practices of campus design, observe the library's design and construction, and design an addition to their own College of Design.

The University of Hawaii at Mānoa's proposal will give students the opportunity to work alongside architects who specialize in honoring and preserving the rich history and culture of Hawaii. Students will work with practitioners, actual clients, consultants, and community and government officials to provide architectural services with a strong emphasis on sustainability for various projects. One project will determine the potential for restoring 113 houses at an abandoned pineapple plantation. Two of the participating firms are WCIT Architecture and Minatoishi Architects, both based in Honolulu.

Since its inception, the NCARB Grant has awarded $62,500 to 12 schools. The Grant program was launched in 2006 as an extension of the NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy. NCARB Grants are designed to help schools implement new programs that merge practice and education in a studio or classroom setting.

Members of NCARB's Practice Education Committee served on the jury to select the 2010 Grant recipients. They are Daniel Bennett Jr. (chair), Auburn, AL; Paul Edmeades, Bel Air, MD; Jeffrey Huberman, Charlotte, NC; Cynthia McKim, Montgomery, AL; Peter Steffian, Boston, MA; and Kyu-Jung Whang; Ithaca, NY.

2011 NCARB Prize
The NCARB Grant program builds upon the NCARB Prize, now in its tenth and final year. NCARB will award up to $62,500 through the NCARB Prize to recognize existing innovative for-credit initiatives that integrate practice and education at schools that are located in an NCARB Member Board jurisdiction and that have NAAB-accredited degree programs or programs that are candidates for NAAB accreditation. NCARB will continue to support the integration of practice and education in the academy through increasing focus on the NCARB Grant program. NCARB has awarded over half a million dollars to architecture schools through the NCARB Prize and NCARB Grant programs over the past nine years.

Submissions for the 2011 NCARB Prize must be received by NCARB no later than Friday, February 11, 2011, 5:00 p.m. EST.

For more information on the 2011 NCARB Prize and detailed submission requirements and instructions, please visit

Click here to download this News Clip.


The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ membership is made up of the architectural registration boards of all 50 states as well as those of the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. NCARB assists its member registration boards in carrying out their duties and provides a certification program for individual architects.

NCARB protects the public health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of the practice of architecture through the development and application of standards for licensure and credentialing of architects. In order to achieve these goals, the Council develops and recommends standards to be required of an applicant for architectural registration; develops and recommends standards regulating the practice of architecture; provides to Member Boards a process for certifying the qualifications of an architect for registration; and represents the interests of Member Boards before public and private agencies. NCARB has established reciprocal registration for architects in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.