AIA Amends Continuing Education Requirement to Incorporate NCARB Model Law Recommendation

7 February 2012

Washington, DC—The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has amended its continuing education membership requirement to incorporate 12 hours of health, safety, and welfare (HSW) continuing education hours (CEHs).

In June, NCARB’s 54 U.S. Member Boards overwhelmingly passed by resolution significant changes to the continuing education requirements outlined in the NCARB Model Law and Model Regulations. The revisions established a recommended standard of 12 CEHs in HSW subjects each calendar year for registration renewal.

At its 8-9 December 2011 meeting, the AIA Board of Directors amended the AIA Rules of the Board as follows:

“2.11 Continuing Education Requirement. The annual continuing education requirement for Architect members is 18 learning units, which must include twelve (12) hours of health, safety, and welfare education. During the years 2009 through 2012, this requirement must also include four (4) hours of sustainable design education within the total 18-hour continuing education requirement. The Institute will re-evaluate this requirement in 2012.The Institute shall determine what activities or programs qualify for learning units. One hour earned in an eligible activity or program shall equal one learning unit. An activity or program may qualify both for health, safety, and welfare education and for sustainable design education.”

“There was broad acceptance among our leadership that higher standards of professional knowledge were crucial to our identity, that AIA strongly supports efforts by NCARB to seek uniform continuing education requirements across its member jurisdictions, and that a better alignment of requirements is more valuable and convenient for our AIA members and NCARB Record holders,” said 2012 AIA President Jeff Potter, FAIA.

“We are excited to hear that AIA has decided to modify their requirement in an effort to further promote the standardization of continuing education for licensed architects,” said NCARB President/Chair of the Board Scott C. Veazey, AIA, NCARB.

The next vital step to streamline continuing education requirements is for individual jurisdictions to adopt and implement the NCARB recommendation. Some jurisdictions have already adopted this standard, and others are in the process of doing so. NCARB has pledged any assistance necessary to support the jurisdictions in order to facilitate this standardization of requirements.

You can read Resolution 2011-01 at

For more information on AIA's decision, please visit its website.



The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards' membership is made up of the architectural registration boards of all 50 states as well as those of the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. NCARB assists its member registration boards in carrying out their duties and provides a certification program for individual architects.

NCARB protects the public health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of the practice of architecture through the development and application of standards for licensure and credentialing of architects. In order to achieve these goals, the Council develops and recommends standards to be required of an applicant for architectural registration; develops and recommends standards regulating the practice of architecture; provides to Member Boards a process for certifying the qualifications of an architect for registration; and represents the interests of Member Boards before public and private agencies. NCARB has established reciprocal registration for architects in the United States and Canada.


Related Content

NCARB Member Boards Pass New Continuing Education Standards
NCARB’s 54 U.S. Member Boards overwhelmingly passed by resolution significant changes to the continuing education requirements outlined in the NCARB Model Law and Model Regulations at the 92nd NCARB Annual Meeting and Conference in June.

Continuing Education Requirements
Most jurisdictions require that architects complete some form of continuing education to update their skills to renew their license. Learn each state's requirements.