Executive Director of NAAB Andrea S. Rutledge Receives NCARB President’s Medal

27 July 2012

Minneapolis, MN—The highest honor bestowed by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB)—the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service—was awarded by 2011-2012 President Scott C. Veazey, AIA, NCARB to Andrea S. Rutledge, CAE, Executive Director of the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), based in Washington, DC. The President’s Medal was established in 1994 to recognize those individuals who dedicate part of their careers, energy, and wisdom to benefit the work of NCARB, the public, and the architectural profession.

Rutledge was presented with this distinctive award during NCARB’s 93rd Annual Meeting and Conference held in Minneapolis, MN. In announcing Rutledge and the other recipients, Veazey commended the individuals for their commitment to the architectural profession and to the Council whose mission is to protect the public’s healthy, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of standards for licensure and credentialing.

Since 2007, Rutledge has been the executive director of the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB). She has served as NAAB’s liaison on NCARB’s Education Committee, keeping the committee informed on the accrediting process and assisting with training NCARB volunteers who serve on accrediting teams. She and her staff also oversee the Education Evaluation Service for Architects (EESA) process that reviews applicants for NCARB certification that do not have professional degree from a NAAB-accredited program.

Prior to NAAB, Rutledge served in leadership roles at the American Institute of Architects (AIA), most recently as the managing director of alliances, where she led the unit responsible for developing programs and services for a range of AIA member groups. Among other distinguished roles in her career, Rutledge previously served as director of the White House Administrative Office, where she directed the administrative support and services to the president, the first lady, and a staff of 440, and managed over $45 million in appropriated funds. She holds a Master of Fine Arts in Drama from the Catholic University of America and a Bachelor of Arts in Theatre and History from the University of Colorado, Boulder.


The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ membership is made up of the architectural registration boards of all 50 states as well as those of the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. NCARB assists its member registration boards in carrying out their duties and provides a certification program for individual architects.

NCARB protects the public health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of the practice of architecture through the development and application of standards for licensure and credentialing of architects. In order to achieve these goals, the Council develops and recommends standards to be required of an applicant for architectural registration; develops and recommends standards regulating the practice of architecture; provides to Member Boards a process for certifying the qualifications of an architect for registration; and represents the interests of Member Boards before public and private agencies. NCARB has established reciprocal registration for architects in the United States and Canada.

Visit: www.ncarb.org  
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ncarb  
Facebook: www.facebook.com/NCARB   

Related Content

NCARB Presidents Medal Awarded to Five for Their Service to the Public and the Profession
The NCARB President’s Medal for Distinguished Service was awarded by 2011-2012 President Scott C. Veazey, AIA, NCARB to five deserving individuals at the organization’s 2012 Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, MN.