NCARB Hosts Meeting of the Council for the Tri-National Practice of Architecture

Tri-National Meeting: June 2013

8 July 2013

Leadership and executive staff from the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA), and the Federación de Colegios de Arquitectos de La República Mexicana (FCARM) met in San Diego on 17 June 2013 to review the current Tri-National Mutual Recognition Agreement and confirm next steps in the final phase of the Tri-National pilot program. The discussion also included a comparison of each country’s path to licensure and certification, as well as the roles of the various professional organizations involved in those processes in each country.

Together, these organizations comprise the Council for the Tri-National Practice of Architecture (CTPA), which is responsible for implementing the Tri-National agreement for reciprocal licensure in the United States, Canada, and Mexico. “Our discussions underscored the special relationship between the North American nations and provided new insights into how each country’s approach to licensure is evolving,” said NCARB President Blakely C. Dunn, AIA, NCARB. “We made important progress in designing a collaborative approach that provides assurance that ongoing efforts will continue to protect the public’s health, safety, and welfare.”

The three countries have been engaged in a pilot program for applicants seeking certification and reciprocal licensure in one of the host countries. Applicant dossiers were recently reviewed, and the pilot program will conclude once the interview process is completed. Results of the pilot program will inform the implementation of the agreement signed in 2005.

For architects licensed in countries other than Canada and Mexico, NCARB administers the Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect Program, which was created to allow foreign architects who do not hold a license to practice from one of the 54 U.S. jurisdictions to apply for NCARB certification. The alternative to the BEFA Program process is to obtain an evaluation of foreign education through the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), complete the Intern Development Program (IDP), and pass the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®).

Related Content

International Practice
NCARB has established reciprocal registration for architects in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, and is engaged in similar discussions with additional countries.

Foreign Architect Path to Certification
The foreign architect path to certification allows foreign architects to demonstrate competence to independently practice architecture, while protecting the public health, safety, and welfare to meet the examination requirement of NCARB certification.