ARE Update: Exams taken before 2006 expiring soon

3 December 2013

This July marks the fifth year since the June 2009 update to the Rolling Clock, which means that any divisions passed before 1 January 2006 will begin to expire unless a candidate has passed all divisions of the ARE by 1 July 2014.

Act Now and Complete Your ARE
If you have ARE 4.0 division credits that will expire 1 July 2014, act now by planning and preparing to complete the ARE. Develop a plan to complete each outstanding division before your previous credits expire.

How do I know when my divisions or division credits will expire?
Log on to My NCARB and review your Rolling Clock history in My Examination. Any examination taken after 1996—the start of computer-based testing—is visible within My Examination and identifies the date the division or division credit will expire. Exams taken prior to computer-based testing are not tracked within My Examination.

What if I can’t see the Rolling Clock in My Examination?
The jurisdictions of Texas, Tennessee, Manitoba, and New Brunswick have their own independent rolling clock policies and therefore do not use the NCARB Rolling Clock. If you are a candidate within one of these jurisdictions, you will need to contact your board directly for information regarding your current rolling clock status.

What if I completed divisions prior to computer-based testing?
Those exam divisions or any ARE 4.0 credit built from one of those divisions will expire 1 July 2014. If you have kept your exam eligibilities active since 1996, your My Examination will correctly reflect the remaining divisions you must complete prior to 1 July 2014. To view these open eligibilities, go to the “Schedule” portion of My Examination.

What do I do if my previous eligibilities have lapsed?
You will need to contact your registration board (or NCARB if your board participates in the Direct Registration program) to have your eligibilities reopened under the Board’s now current policies.

Why was the Rolling Clock originally enacted?
Prior to 2006, several jurisdictions had some form of a rolling clock in place, but there was no uniform standard. Member Boards decided that requiring the exam to be passed within a reasonable period better ensures that the ARE remains a valid measure of the level of competence necessary to independently practice architecture. A uniform standard also helped facilitate reciprocity among jurisdictions.

Call NCARB Customer Service at 202-879-0520 or send an e-mail to

Related Content

ARE Rolling Clock
Exam scores are valid for five years.