2015 NCARB Annual Business Meeting: New Leadership Set to Take Organization Further

Annual Meeting 

June 20, 2015

New Orleans—Day three of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Annual Business Meeting was highlighted by opening remarks from newly elected NCARB President Dennis S. Ward, AIA, NCARB; the introduction of the FY16 Board of Directors; and voting on three resolutions related to the Council’s Bylaws and requirements for NCARB certification.

2015 Resolutions

Delegates began with a vote on whether to discontinue the Broadly Experienced Architect (BEA) Program and replace it with alternative education and experience requirements for certification. With the membership split on how the BEA should be remodeled, this initial resolution did not pass. NCARB will continue to engage its members on this issue in order to reach a consensus view on the revised criteria for certification.

Member Boards, however, did approve an alternative path to NCARB certification for foreign architects, replacing the current Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect (BEFA) Program with a new set of requirements for experience and education. Members also approved a resolution that modifies the qualifications for public director candidates nominated to NCARB’s Board of Directors.

Updated NCARB Bylaws and Certification Guidelines reflecting the changes voted on at the Annual Business Meeting will be available in July. Read the 2015 resolutions summary report.

New NCARB Board Members

Newly elected officers of the FY16 NCARB Board of Directors were introduced by outgoing President Dale McKinney, FAIA, NCARB. New officers include:

  • President Dennis S. Ward, AIA, NCARB
  • First Vice President/President-elect Kristine Harding, AIA, NCARB
  • Second Vice President Gregory L. Erny, NCARB, AIA
  • Treasurer David Hoffman, FAIA, NCARB
  • Secretary Terry L. Allers, AIA, NCARB

Meet the FY16 Board of Directors.

Appreciation for Past Board Members

For their service to the Board of Directors, McKinney recognized departing Board members Past President Blakely C. Dunn, AIA, NCARB; Second Vice President Margo P. Jones, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP; and Director, Region 3 Anne K. Smith, FAIA. McKinney also acknowledged retiring member board executives Juanita Chastain; Cynthia J. McKim; and Penny A. Walker.

Ethics in a Regulatory World

Ward announced in his opening remarks to the delegation that he is forming a new task force to explore how ethics can play a role in regulation. The Ethics Task Force will be chaired by McKinney. “As the work of architects becomes more reliant on unlicensed designers and other professions, ethical obligations can get murky,” Ward said.

Ward also plans to continue NCARB’s exploration of an integrated path to licensure, as well as find ways to bring added value to the Certificate. “As I have traveled around the country, I have been posed the question many times over: ‘What will having a Certificate do for me?’” Ward said. “I have asked each committee to spend time focusing on how to add benefits to the Certificate program beyond reciprocal licensure.”

Learn more about NCARB’s renewed focus on strengthening the Certificate.


Friday, June 19

Thursday, June 18

Related Content

Summary Report of Vote on Resolutions at NCARB’s Annual Business Meeting
Delegates representing 53 of the Council’s 54 Member Boards that oversee the practice of architecture voted on three resolutions.

Incoming President Seeks to Enhance NCARB Certificate Benefits
President-elect Dennis S. Ward, AIA, NCARB, announced a renewed focus on strengthening the NCARB Certificate program.

NCARB Installs FY16 Board of Directors
NCARB introduced its FY16 Board of Directors at its Annual Business Meeting in New Orleans.

Five Awarded the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service
NCARB's highest honor was bestowed upon five individuals by President Dale McKinney at the 2015 Annual Business Meeting.