South Carolina Architect Dennis S. Ward, AIA, NCARB, Inaugurated as 2015-2016 NCARB President

Incoming president of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) declares organization will stay committed to better serving Member Boards, emerging professionals, and the profession.

June 20, 2015

Dennis WardNew Orleans—Dennis S. Ward, AIA, NCARB, of Florence, S.C., was installed as president of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) at its 96th Annual Business Meeting.

“NCARB is becoming the organization we all want it to be,” Ward said. “A leader regarding licensure concepts, an aid to the work of our Member Boards, and an advocate for the value licensure brings to the public.”

During his term as president, Ward plans to create an Ethics Task Force, continue the Council’s exploration of an integrated path to licensure, and bring added benefit to the NCARB Certificate.

Ward previously served as NCARB’s first vice president/president-elect, second vice president, treasurer, secretary, and the director of the Southern Conference (Region 3), which represents the jurisdictions of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Over his distinguished career, Ward has been a member of the South Carolina Board of Architectural Examiners since 2001, serving as chair in 2004-2005 and again in 2009-2010. He has been a crucial member of numerous NCARB committees, task forces, and workshops, including the Licensure Task Force, the ARE Subcommittee (Chair 2008-2009), the ARE Technology Subcommittee (Chair 2006-2007), the Committee on Examination, the ARE Specification Task Force, and the ARE Item Writing Workshop. In 2013, he was awarded the NCARB President’s Medal for Distinguished Service, the Council’s highest honor, for his commitment to the architectural profession. Ward has also served as an NCARB visiting team representative for the National Architectural Accreditation Board (NAAB).

A graduate of Clemson University’s undergraduate program, Ward also attended Clemson’s Charles E. Daniels Center for Building Research and Urban Studies in Genoa, Italy, and received his Masters of Architecture from Clemson University. In 1995, Ward became president of F W Architects, Inc., AIA, a position in which he continues to serve.

Experienced in both large and small design projects, Ward’s portfolio includes educational, civic, theatrical, commercial, institutional, religious, health care, senior living, adaptive re-use, state, and federal projects. He holds an NCARB Certificate for national reciprocity and is licensed in South Carolina, Georgia, and North Carolina.


The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ membership is made up of the architectural registration boards of all 50 states as well as those of the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. NCARB assists its member registration boards in carrying out their duties and provides a certification program for individual architects.

NCARB protects the public health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of the practice of architecture through the development and application of standards for licensure and credentialing of architects. In order to achieve these goals, the Council develops and recommends standards to be required of an applicant for architectural registration; develops and recommends standards regulating the practice of architecture; provides to Member Boards a process for certifying the qualifications of an architect for registration; and represents the interests of Member Boards before public and private agencies. NCARB has established reciprocal registration for architects in the United States and Canada.


Related Content

Incoming President Seeks to Enhance NCARB Certificate Benefits
President-elect Dennis S. Ward, AIA, NCARB, announced a renewed focus on strengthening the NCARB Certificate program.

NCARB Installs FY16 Board of Directors
NCARB introduced its FY16 Board of Directors at its Annual Business Meeting in New Orleans.