Integrated Path to Architectural Licensure

The Integrated Path to Architectural Licensure (IPAL) provides students the opportunity to complete requirements for licensure while earning their degree. Spearheaded by NCARB, the initiative encourages NAAB-accredited programs to incorporate the Architectural Experience Program® (AXP®), as well as the opportunity to take the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®), into curricula.

IPAL Programs

NCARB has accepted 21 programs at 17 schools to participate in the IPAL initiative:

  • Boston Architectural College
  • The Catholic University of America
  • Clemson University
  • Drexel University
  • Lawrence Technological University
  • NewSchool of Architecture and Design (two programs)
  • North Carolina State University (two programs)
  • Portland State University
  • Savannah College of Art and Design
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Detroit Mercy
  • University of Florida
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Maryland
  • University of North Carolina-Charlotte (two programs)
  • University of Southern California
  • Woodbury University (two programs)






Official Seal

For use only by IPAL accepted programs.