2010 NCARB Prize

2010 NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy

The 2010 NCARB Prize jury, comprising members of the Council's Practice Education Committee and six academic representatives (deans, heads, or chairs) from schools with architecture programs accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board, (NAAB) nominated by NCARB's regional leadership, met 3-4 March 2010 in New Orleans, LA. They considered 31 entries representing 23 different colleges and universities.

Both entries and jurors were divided into two groups based on regional location. Each team evaluated a set of anonymous submissions and selected finalists, which were then reviewed by the entire jury. The jury’s decision was announced during the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony, 5 March 2010 in New Orleans, LA.

Six schools were selected for awards. The NCARB Prize grand prize—a cash award of $25,000—was presented to the New Jersey Institute of Technology. Five submissions were selected as NCARB Prize winners and recipients of $7,500 each. They are the California College of the Arts; California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; the Catholic University of America; Louisiana State University; and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Grand Prize Winner:
New Jersey Institute of Technology
College of Architecture and Design
"The Box and Beyond"

California College

Prize Winner:
California College of the Arts
Department of Architecture
"Refract House"

California Polytechnic Institute

Prize Winner:
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
College of Architecture and Environmental Design
"Design Collaboratory (DC)"

Catholic University

Prize Winner:
The Catholic University of America
School of Architecture and Planning
"Spirit of Place-Spirit of Design"

Louisiana State University

Prize Winner:
Louisiana State University
School of Architecture
"Practice Professional Practice"

University of Wisconsin

Prize Winner:
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
School of Architecture and Urban Planning
"Computation and Craft: The IP/BIM Studio"


Related Content

The Prestige of the NCARB Prize
Three project directors of past recipients of the $25,000 Grand Prize reflected on their experience entering the competition and how receiving the NCARB Grand Prize benefited their architectural programs.