Architect Registration Examination

The Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®) assesses candidates for their knowledge, skills, and ability to provide the various services required in the practice of architecture. The ARE has been adopted for use by all 54 U.S. Member Boards and the Canadian provincial and territorial architectural associations as a registration examination required for architectural registration.

To learn about the other registration requirements, see Studying Architecture and Architectural Experience Program.

ARE Overview

Learn about the history of the ARE and how it is developed.


Getting Started With the ARE
You should contact your registration board directly to verify the requirements to gain access to the ARE.

Preparing for the ARE

Preparing for the ARE
NCARB Exam Guides and practice software for each division.


Taking the ARE
The ARE is administered at Prometric test centers. Find a local test center near you and learn what to do when you get there.

ARE Pass Rates

Pass Rates
Pass rates for each of the divisions are available by division and by university.


My Examination
Through My Examination, ARE candidates can schedule appointments; access score reports; view exam history, rolling clock dates, eligibility to test information; learn about the latest ARE news; and more—all in one place.


ARE Updates
ARE e-news is a quarterly electronic publication sent to ARE candidates. Topics cover the latest news about the exam, commonly asked questions, important reminders, and information related to the exam from NCARB’s Annual Meeting and Conference held each June.

ARE 5.0

ARE 5.0
ARE 5.0 launched on November 1, 2016. Get the latest developments and stay informed with news and announcements as we move into this exciting new era for the Architect Registration Examination.

ARE Guidelines
Updated November 2016! The ARE 4.0 Guidelines is essential reading for anyone preparing for the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®). The document includes an overview of the exam divisions as well as the exam program, the rolling clock, exam eligibility, and five steps to taking and completing the ARE. [more]

ARE Guidelines
ARE Fees

Each Division:

United States and Canada: $210

International Test Centers (London, Abu Dhabi, Hong Kong): $210

Click here for more information.