How to Find a NAAB-Accredited Architecture Program

This post is part of a four-part series on becoming an architect. We’ll walk you through the basics of getting licensed, understanding your jurisdiction’s requirements, and where to go for more information. 

So, you want to be an architect? Here’s what you should consider when choosing an architecture program.

In most jurisdictions, you have to earn a professional degree from a program accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)—the only U.S. agency authorized to evaluate architecture programs. These programs include:

  • Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch)
  • Master of Architecture (M.Arch) 
  • Doctor of Architecture (D.Arch)

With more than 150 accredited programs to choose from, finding the right fit can seem daunting. Thankfully, the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) created an online guide to architecture schools. With the click of a button, you can learn about a school’s philosophy, facilities, scholarship opportunities, and more.

Remember: each jurisdiction sets its own education requirements, so it’s a good idea to verify the latest policies. You can learn about your jurisdiction’s requirements here

Be sure to check back for the third installation of our “How to Become an Architect” series. In the meantime, you can watch all of the Destination Architect videos on our YouTube channel.

The 5 Steps to Becoming an Architect