Not sure how to begin the examination process? Learn more about meeting your jurisdiction’s requirements, scheduling a division, and important ARE policies to know before you start.

What is ARE 5.0?

ARE® 5.0 features six divisions organized around the progression of a typical architecture project. The divisions can be taken in any order and include a combination of multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, fill-in-the-blank, hot spot, and drag-and-place questions, as well as case studies.

Exam Eligibility

Before you can schedule an ARE division, your jurisdiction’s board of architecture will need to approve your eligibility to test. Each jurisdiction sets its own rules regarding when you're eligible to take the ARE, so be sure to meet your jurisdiction’s requirements before requesting eligibility.

If you’re not sure if you have eligibilities to test, you can view your eligibility information in your NCARB Record.

Using Your NCARB Record

To take the ARE, you’ll need an active NCARB Record.

Within your NCARB Record, click on the “Exams” tab and go to My Examination to:

Understanding Exam Policies

Before taking the ARE, you should become familiar with our exam policies. These include:

Detailed explanations of all ARE 5.0 policies can be found in the ARE 5.0 Guidelines.

Switching from ARE 4.0 to ARE 5.0

ARE 4.0 retired on June 30, 2018. If you've just made the transition from ARE 4.0 to ARE 5.0, you can learn more about the differences between the two versions here