U.S. architects can establish professional contacts, seek work, and perform services as licensed architects in Mexico through the Tri-National Mutual Recognition Agreement.

Developed by NCARB, the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA), and la Federación de Colegios de Arquitectos de la República Mexicana (FCARM), this agreement removes barriers and establishes standards for the recognition of qualified architects from each country.


To be eligible for reciprocal licensure through the Tri-National Agreement as a U.S. architect, you must:

  • Be a citizen or permanent resident of the U.S., Canada, or Mexico
  • Be licensed and in good standing in a U.S., Canadian, or Mexican jurisdiction
  • Hold an active NCARB Certificate
  • Hold a degree in architecture from a NAAB-accredited program or the equivalent
  • Have a minimum of 10 years of post-licensure experience in your home country
  • Review the eligibility requirements for Canadian or Mexican architects

Pursuing a License Through the Agreement

Eligible architects will submit a dossier of work documenting their knowledge and skills of specific competencies outlined in the agreement. Successful applicants will be interviewed by the reciprocal (host) country in the language of the host country.

Review step-by-step instructions for earning a reciprocal license through this agreement.


Fees for completing the Tri-National MRA process are payable to the national regulatory authority of the host country and are subject to change.

  • Dossier Review: $2,500
  • Interview: $5,000
  • Additional fees may be assessed by the individual jurisdictional, provincial, or territorial authorities for initial licensure and license renewal.

Need Help?

Contact Brittney Cosby, Experience + Education Program Manager, for more information about beginning the Tri-National application process.