Experience Areas

The AXP® identifies 96 key tasks that fall into six practice areas. To demonstrate your ability to perform specific tasks, you’ll need to report a total of 3,740 hours across the six areas.

Experience Area Required Hours
Practice Management 160
Project Management 360
Programming & Analysis 260
Project Planning & Design 1,080
Project Development & Documentation 1,520
Construction & Evaluation 360
Total Hours 3,740

Each experience area aligns with an ARE® 5.0 division, so you can use the AXP to guide your professional growth and exam strategy.

The 96 tasks are designed to span several phases of your early career—some are simpler, while others may require skills and experience that are developed over time. Work with your supervisor to create a strategy to complete the AXP in a way that best suits your goals and abilities.

If you are completing the AXP through the portfolio method rather than hourly reporting, you will need to upload documentation demonstrating competency in all 96 AXP tasks.

Remember: Each jurisdiction sets its own requirements for initial licensure, so check with your board to ensure you’re getting the experience you need.

Experience Settings
Half of your documented experience (1,860 hours) must be gained while employed by an architecture firm and under the supervision of a licensed architect. To qualify for the AXP, your work must fall under one of two experience settings. These settings define the type of organization, the work performed, and who verifies your experience.

  • Setting A: Work performed in an architecture firm
  • Setting O: Experience that can be performed outside an architecture firm

See the AXP Guidelines for a detailed explanation of the requirements for each experience opportunity.