ARE® 5.0 features six divisions organized around the progression of a typical architecture project. The divisions can be taken in any order and include a combination of multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, fill-in-the-blank, hot spot, and drag-and-place questions, as well as case studies.

Start the ARE

Not sure how to begin the examination process? Learn more about meeting your jurisdiction’s requirements, scheduling a division, and important ARE policies to know before you start.

Exam Preparation

Learn more about the content on each of ARE 5.0’s six divisions, find exam resources, and more:

ARE 5.0 Community

Thousands of candidates are taking the ARE right now—and you don’t have to go it alone! Visit our ARE 5.0 Community to find helpful resources, learn more about the exam, and engage with NCARB experts and fellow test-takers.

Pass Rates

Since ARE 5.0 launched on November 1, 2016, NCARB has been collecting data on early testers. We will begin posting pass rates by division and school of architecture in the summer of 2017.

ARE Transition

Still testing as an ARE 4.0 candidate and thinking about transitioning to ARE 5.0? It isn’t a one-size-fits-all process. Learn more about how to plan an approach that best suits your needs.