On August 4-6, 2022, 15 professional practice professors from architecture programs across the United States gathered for the fourth annual NCARB Scholars in Professional Practice training event. The training provided an opportunity for educators to enhance the delivery of professional practice courses for architecture students by sharing best practices, exploring methods to bring diverse perspectives in the classroom, and evaluating lesson content.

A professor speaks while sitting at a table.

During the three-day event—hosted by the Oklahoma State University School of Architecture—attendees received expert training on incorporating storytelling and empathy into their courses, encouraging authentic communication, and alternative teaching ideas.

A professor presents one of her professional practice lessons.

Scholars also had the opportunity to share their best lessons with each other, providing feedback and identifying opportunities for improvement. The attendees were especially appreciative of the rare opportunity to receive feedback from peers who were familiar with this specific subject matter.

A professor presents one a lesson in front of the NCARB Scholars.

Through presentations and interactive sessions, attendees were able to explore teaching techniques outside of their own typical approach and discuss a variety of course and syllabi structures.

Harry Falconer presents on NCARB requirements.

In addition, Scholars heard from NCARB staff experts about the current path to licensure, as well as how it might evolve in the future.

Professors discuss their courses in small groups.

Through the NCARB Scholars program, NCARB hopes to continue building a community of professional practice educators—encouraging Scholars to share resources, provide feedback, and collaborate to advance the future of architectural education.

A group photo of the 2022 NCARB Scholars.

2022 Scholars:

  • Alex I. Albani, Assoc. AIA
  • Anna M. Aversing, Assoc. AIA
  • Isra Banks, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP BD+C
  • Phil Bernstein, FAIA, NOMA, NCARB, LEED AP
  • Mina Chow, FAIA, NCARB
  • William C. Dean, RA, AIA, LEED AP
  • Craig L. Hinrichs, NCARB
  • Helena Lin Jubany, FAIA
  • Thomas Lowing, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP
  • Jacob Reidel
  • Marc Rukamathu, AIA, NCARB
  • Eric Zabilka, AIA, NCARB
  • Wil Strickland
  • Nilou Vakil, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
  • Karen Williams, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP

Also pictured are Suzanne Bilbeisi, Architecture Department Head; Nathan Richardson, host and architecture faculty at Oklahoma State; Je’Nen Chastain, facilitator; Scott Barton, facilitator; and Isaac McCalip, student.