ARE 4.0 Retirement FAQs

Now that the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®) 4.0 has retired, you may be wondering what happens next. Whether you’ve been planning your transition to ARE 5.0 for a long time or you’re just getting familiar with the new exam, here are answers to some of your frequently asked questions.

Now that ARE 4.0 has retired, how do I transition to ARE 5.0?

If you haven’t already, you’ll likely be automatically transitioned once you log into your NCARB Record and navigate to your Exams tab. There are three exceptions to this:

  • If you completed the exam in ARE 4.0—In this case, congratulations! You’re done with the ARE.
  • If you have testing accommodations—If you have testing accommodations that involve extra breaks or extended testing time, you’ll need to contact us to be transitioned to ARE 5.0.
  • If all your previous exam eligibilities have expired—If you previously had eligibilities to test but those have expired due to inactivity, you’ll need to contact us to be transitioned to ARE 5.0.

How do I know which ARE 5.0 divisions I need to take?

Once you have transitioned, we’ll show you what credits you’ve earned in ARE 5.0 based on your ARE 4.0 testing history. Your next click will take you to the ARE 5.0 exam screen, where you’ll see your remaining divisions and information about your rolling clock.

When do my credited divisions expire?

In most cases, multiple passed ARE 4.0 divisions will combine to give you credit for one or more ARE 5.0 divisions. In those cases, the credit for your ARE 5.0 division will expire based on the rolling clock for your earliest relevant ARE 4.0 division. You can view your credits’ expiration dates by logging in to your NCARB Record and clicking on the Exams tab.

How do I schedule an ARE 5.0 division?

Scheduling an ARE 5.0 division is slightly different than scheduling an ARE 4.0 division—you’ll pay the fee for each division directly to NCARB, and then have the option to schedule immediately or return to your NCARB Record and schedule the division at a later date. You can find step-by-step instructions for scheduling an ARE 5.0 division on our ARE 5.0 Community.

What else is different about ARE 5.0?

If you’re new to ARE 5.0, you’ll also notice no vignettes, a few new item types, reorganized content, more detailed and faster score reports, the opportunity to view provisional feedback before you leave the test center, the ability to take your 15-minute break at any point during testing, and more.

A lot has changed, but what hasn’t changed is most of the content covered: ARE 4.0 and ARE 5.0 test on the same topics, just structured differently with new emphasis on some areas of architectural practice.

Where can I find ARE 5.0 study materials?

NCARB offers a variety of free study materials, including the ARE 5.0 Handbook, ARE 5.0 Demonstration Exam, and our video prep series, all of which can help you adjust to ARE 5.0’s structure and exam format.

In addition, we recently launched our new Approved Test Prep Provider Program, so you can see which third-party study materials have been reviewed by NCARB and given our seal of approval.

Do you have an online community like the ARE 4.0 Google+ community?

Yes! The ARE 5.0 Community is a great way to connect with NCARB moderators and fellow ARE 5.0 test-takers. While it’s no longer hosted on Google+, we think you’ll appreciate the new forum’s organization and options.

Now that ARE 4.0 has retired, should I expect any other changes to the exam?

There are a few upcoming changes to ARE 5.0 that you should be aware of as you continue testing.

  • The cost per division of the ARE will increase from $210 to $235 on October 1, 2018; this keeps the total cost of ARE 5.0 less than the total cost of ARE 4.0.
  • Also starting October 1, 2018, ARE 5.0 will reference the 2015 version of the International Building Codes.
  • Also starting on October 1, 2018, ARE 5.0 will reference the 2017 family of AIA Contract Documents. The ARE will continue to address the standard agreements previously identified. Candidates should expect to see additional questions related to the following contracts:
    • A133-2009, Owner-Construction Manager as Constructor Agreement
    • A195-2008, Owner-Contractor Agreement for Integrated Project Delivery
    • A295-2008, General Conditions of the Contract for Integrated Project Delivery
    • B195-2008; Owner-Architect Agreement for Integrated Project Delivery

Questions we didn’t answer? Ask them in the comments or head over to the ARE 5.0 Community!