I am interested in...

ARE 4.0

Will my passed ARE 4.0 divisions transfer to ARE 5.0?

The ARE 5.0 Credit Model shows how passed ARE 4.0 divisions will transfer to 5.0. You can also use our Transition Calculator, available in My NCARB, to see the 5.0 credits you will receive if you've passed 4.0 division(s) and plan to transfer to 5.0.

Why doesn’t NCARB provide more feedback on score reports?

On a failing score report, you will find descriptive feedback about your level of performance on each section of the division. Descriptive feedback is not provided on passing score reports as the exam is designed to assess your ability to practice architecture—not to be used as a “teaching tool.”

Why do I have to sign a “Candidate Agreement?”

To ensure the exam’s integrity, you will be required to accept the Candidate Agreement before each division. Any inappropriate access to or disclosure of ARE content may result in severe disciplinary action, including the suspension of testing privileges and/or the cancellation of scores. Learn more about the Candidate Agreement.

Who develops the ARE?

The ARE is developed by NCARB with the help of hundreds of licensed volunteers from across the country. Throughout the year, these volunteers write new questions and review current questions to ensure they meet quality standards.

Where can I take the ARE?

Regardless of where you are seeking registration or received eligibility from, you can take the ARE at most Prometric test centers, as well as online from any location that meets online proctoring requirements

Where can I find the latest information about the ARE?

Stay up-to-date on the latest ARE news by subscribing to our free e-newsletters, ARE Update and Destination Architect.

When will I receive my score report?

Results for all ARE 5.0 divisions are typically processed within a few business days of your test date. You’ll receive an email notification once your score has been processed and is available to view in your NCARB Record. Learn more about  receiving your score. Note: While cut scores are being set following the exam changes launching on December 14, score reports will be delayed and are expected to be released in mid-January 2021. 

When did ARE 4.0 retire?

ARE 4.0 retired on  June 30, 2018. If you were testing in ARE 4.0 and haven't completed the exam yet, you'll need to finish testing in ARE 5.0. You can see which divisions you need to take by logging in to My NCARB and navigating to the "Exams" tab.

What tools are available during the exam?

Prometric will provide you with pencils and scratch paper in the testing room. While testing, you will also have on-screen access to resources such as a calculator, necessary formulas, and appropriate structural tables. Learn more about ARE 5.0 reference materials in the Handbook.

What should I do if I experience technical difficulties while testing?

While uncommon, technical difficulties can occur. If you see an error message or experience a computer problem while taking your exam, please let the test center staff or online proctor know immediately. Do not clear the error message. Simply raise your hand or use the ProProctor chat tool, and your test center administrator (TCA) or proctor will assist you. In the event that the technical difficulties cannot be resolved quickly, your exam will be rescheduled at no cost.