On June 2-4, 2022, members from the 55 U.S. architecture licensing boards convened for the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ (NCARB) 2022 Annual Business Meeting. Conducted with both in-person and virtual attendance options, the meeting provided a forum for NCARB members to elect the incoming Board of Directors, vote on important resolutions, and shape the agenda for the Council’s next fiscal year (which begins on July 1). During the meeting, attendees also had the opportunity to engage in workshops covering a variety of important topics and receive updates on NCARB’s work over the past year. 

Reflecting on FY22 

On Thursday, FY22 President Alfred Vidaurri Jr., NCARB, NOMA, FAIA, offered a reflection on NCARB’s challenges and accomplishments over the past year. Vidaurri’s remarks included updates on the organization’s work to envision potential future-focused licensing models and critical research conducted through the Analysis of Practice study. 

“If we had to design a licensing path today, it would probably look very different,“ said Vidaurri. "We need to encourage the opportunity to question what we've been doing. It may be uncomfortable, but the benefit is that we're thinking forward as an organization.”

Vidaurri also reflected on efforts to improve representation throughout the organization’s volunteer and leadership community, emphasizing the importance of continued diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) work. 

In addition, Vidaurri revealed a new vision statement for the organization: Ensuring safe spaces and places for all communities. The vision statement will enhance the mission and objectives outlined in the Strategic Plan.  

End-of-Year Updates 

Attendees received an update on NCARB’s current financial status from Treasurer Kenneth R. Van Tine, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP. This report will be available later in 2022 as part of NCARB’s FY22 Annual Report. 

NCARB CEO Michael Armstrong provided an update on the organization’s efforts on key initiatives during the past fiscal year, highlighting ways that NCARB has gone further to be agile and connect to its key stakeholders. He also reported on FY22 staff accomplishments, including the migration of the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®) from Prometric to PSI, the creation of six new practice exams, and the redesign of My NCARB and ncarb.org

“As we work on having a joint focus on the future, we need to both have foresight—where we anticipation and we plan—and we have to adapt, so we can look at what we think is on the horizon,” said CEO Armstrong. “These are exciting times, and we can get there if we're in partnership with our Member Boards.”

Looking Ahead to FY23 

Incoming FY23 President Bayliss Ward, NCARB, AIA, shared his vision for the year ahead. During his term, Ward plans to refresh NCARB’s outreach strategy, ensuring that the organization continues to go further to raise awareness of its mission and the path to licensure. Ward will also oversee the organization’s efforts to act on findings from the Analysis of Practice. Additionally, Ward will continue NCARB’s work regarding diversity, equity, and inclusion, with input from NCARB’s new standing DEI Committee and a special work group developing recommendations related to Board governance. 

“When you look back at how we’ve grown and evolved, it’s truly incredible, said Ward. “But there’s still more to do. We can go further if we stay focused on inclusion—regarding both the licensure path and NCARB leadership opportunities.”


During the meeting, members voted on several resolutions—including a vote to ratify the Council’s Mutual Recognition Agreement with the United Kingdom as well as a vote to establish the new DEI Committee. Members also retired several historical resolutions in conflict with current Council policies and updated policy documents including the NCARB Certification Guidelines, NCARB Bylaws, and NCARB Model Law and Regulations.  

FY22 Board of Directors 

Delegates elected members of the FY22 NCARB Board of Directors. Members of the FY22 Board of Directors include: 

  • President/Chair of the Board Bayliss Ward, NCARB, AIA 
  • First Vice President/President-elect Jon Alan Baker, FAIA, NCARB, LEED AP 
  • Second Vice President Kenneth R. Van Tine, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP 
  • Treasurer Edward T. Marley, NCARB, AIA, LEED AP
  • Secretary John Patrick Rademacher, NCARB, AIA 
  • Past President Alfred Vidaurri Jr., NCARB, NOMA, FAIA 
  • Director, Region 1 Janet L. Hansen, NCARB, LEED AP 
  • Director, Region 2 George H. Miller, NCARB, FAIA  
  • Director, Region 3 Richard H. McNeel, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP 
  • Director, Region 4 Margaret (Meg) S. Parsons, FAIA, NCARB, LEED AP BD+C, ALEP 
  • Director, Region 5 Lenora A. Isom, RA, NCARB 
  • Director, Region 6 Sylvia Kwan, FAIA, LEED AP 
  • Member Board Executive Director Cathe M. Evans 
  • Public Director Gary R. Ey, CDT