Detroit—Seven individuals have been awarded the National Council of Architectural Registration Board’s (NCARB) highest honor, the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service. The medals were bestowed by 2017-2018 President Gregory L. Erny, FAIA, NCARB, Hon. FCARM, at the organization’s 2018 Annual Business Meeting. President Erny commended each of this year’s recipients for their commitment to architectural regulation and NCARB’s mission to help protect the public’s health, safety, and welfare.

“NCARB relies on the commitment and expertise of people like this year’s President’s Medalists to continue going further for our members, customers, and the public,” said Erny. “I applaud them for their outstanding service and take great pride in awarding them with this honor.”

2018 Recipients

Kristine Annexstad Harding

Kristine Annexstad Harding, FAIA, NCARB, of Huntsville, Alabama, was recognized for her many years of service to the Alabama Board of Architects and the Council, including her leadership of several committees, Region 3, and the Board of Directors. During her term as FY17 president/chair of the Board, Harding led the implementation of NCARB’s updated Architectural Experience Program® (AXP™) and Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®), as well as several alternative paths to licensure and certification. She also created the Model Law Task Force, initiating NCARB’s multi-year effort to review and update our Model Law to better serve Member Boards. Her efforts have been instrumental in improving the effectiveness of the Council’s service to its members and enhancing pathways for member feedback and engagement. During her service to the Council, Harding has also chaired the Experience Advisory, Procedures and Documents, and Regional Leadership committees, as well as the Futures Task Force.

Judith Kinnard

Judith A. Kinnard, FAIA, of New Orleans, Louisiana, was recognized for her service to the profession and significant impact on architectural education. As current president of the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) and past president of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), Kinnard has led both organizations through significant initiatives—including the NAAB’s recent restructuring and ACSA’s centennial year. She has played a major role in refreshing all aspects of the accreditation process, as well as increasing collaboration between the NAAB, NCARB, and other collateral organizations. A celebrated professor, Kinnard has also devoted more than 40 years to inspiring and instructing the next generation of architects and currently teaches at Tulane University.

 John E. Mateyko

John E. Mateyko, AIA, of Lewes, Delaware, was recognized for his service to the Delaware Board of Architects and leadership of NCARB’s resiliency efforts. Mateyko has served as the chair of the Resiliency Work Group since its inception in 2016, examining how NCARB’s programs and services can encourage and promote awareness regarding sustainable design, energy conservation, and disaster mitigation. His passion and expertise have been influential in guiding the direction of the Council’s future actions. In addition, Mateyko served as chair of the Delaware AIA Sustainability Program for a decade, and served terms as both member and chair of the Delaware Board of Architects for nearly 10 years.


Miguel A. Rodriguez

Miguel A. Rodriguez, FAIA, NCARB, of Coral Gables, Florida, was recognized for his service to the Florida Board of Architecture and Interior Design and the Council, including his leadership of the Education Committee. Rodriguez first joined the Florida Board in the early 2000s and served as chair in 2014-2015. He has also been involved in regional leadership, serving as the secretary of Region 3. Rodriguez has been a valuable member of many of the Council’s volunteer efforts, including the ARE 5.0 Cut Score, Disaster Response, and Licensure task forces, as well as the NCARB Award Jury. As the chair of the Education Committee, Rodriguez has led the review of continuing education categories for health, safety, and welfare, and helped evaluate concepts for the re-envisioned NCARB Award.

 Anne K. Smith

Anne K. Smith, FAIA, NCARB, of Savannah, Georgia, was recognized for her many years of service to the Georgia Board of Architects and Interior Designers, Region 3, and the Council. In 2004, Smith joined the Georgia Board of Architects and Interior Designers, going on to serve in multiple regional leadership positions, including as vice chair, chair, and director of Region 3. A dedicated member of the Council’s volunteer initiatives, Smith has served on the Broadly Experienced Architect, Education, Integrated Path Evaluation, and Regional Chairs committees, as well as numerous subcommittees and task forces, including the Licensure and Futures task forces. In addition, Smith was a champion of the new alternative path to certification and was the first to become certified under the new alternative. Her enthusiasm and expertise have been instrumental in improving both the Council’s programs and services, and the profession as a whole.

 Ryan L. Misner

Ryan L. Misner, AIA, NCARB, of Birmingham, Alabama, was recognized for his service to the Council and the Examination Directorate, including his guidance of committees and dedication to the development and success of ARE 5.0. As the former Assistant Director of Examination Development & Research, Misner played a significant role in the transition from ARE 4.0 to ARE 5.0—from helping candidates navigate the new version of the exam to assisting in the oversight and coordination of NCARB’s volunteer efforts. His commitment to the ongoing development of the ARE empowered the Council to protect the public’s health, safety, and welfare by continuously administering an exam that aligns with current architectural practice.

Amanda Pica

Amanda Pica, of Washington, DC, was recognized for her service to the Council and the Marketing & Communications Directorate, including her commitment to advancing the Council’s mission through effective and innovative communication, and stewardship of NCARB’s historical research for the upcoming Centennial Celebration. As Assistant Director of Marketing & Communications, Pica has been the driving force behind NCARB’s evolving marketing strategy, including the development of email and social media outreach. She has played an instrumental role in encouraging the Council to adopt new technology and overseen multiple website redesigns. In addition, Pica coordinates communication efforts for the Annual Business Meeting, ensuring that members are prepared to help shape the future of architectural regulation. Her dedication to providing clear, thoughtful communication continues to help the Council go further for its members and customers.



The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ membership is made up of the architectural registration boards of all 50 states as well as those of the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. NCARB assists its member registration boards in carrying out their duties and provides a certification program for individual architects.

NCARB protects the public health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of the practice of architecture through the development and application of standards for licensure and credentialing of architects. In order to achieve these goals, the Council develops and recommends standards to be required of an applicant for architectural registration; develops and recommends standards regulating the practice of architecture; provides to Member Boards a process for certifying the qualifications of an architect for registration; and represents the interests of Member Boards before public and private agencies. NCARB has established reciprocal registration for architects in the United States and Canada.