Reminder: ARE 4.0 retires in less than two months on June 30, 2018. Candidates will not be able to test in ARE 4.0 after that date, and those who have not completed the exam will need to finish testing in ARE 5.0. Learn more about ARE 4.0’s upcoming retirement, or transition to ARE 5.0 now!

The material tested in ARE® 4.0 is organized around content areas, split into seven divisions. The divisions can be taken in any order and include graphic vignettes plus a combination of multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, and fill-in-the-blank questions.

Start the ARE

Not sure how to begin the examination process? Learn more about meeting your jurisdiction’s requirements, scheduling a division, and important ARE policies to know before you start.

Exam Preparation

Learn more about the content on each of ARE 4.0’s seven divisions, find exam guides, and more:

ARE 4.0 Community

Thousands of candidates are taking the ARE right now—and you don’t have to go it alone! Visit our ARE 4.0 Community to find helpful resources, learn more about the exam, and engage with NCARB experts and fellow test-takers.

Pass Rates

Curious how other candidates performed on ARE 4.0? You can view pass rates for each division or by school of architecture.

ARE Transition

Transitioning from ARE 4.0 to ARE 5.0 isn’t a one-size-fits-all process. Learn more about how to plan an approach that best suits your needs