Now Available: NCARB’s Continuing Education Guidelines

To help architectural licensing boards, architects, continuing education (CE) providers, and CE accreditors better understand what qualifies as health, safety, and welfare (HSW) CE, the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) has released its Continuing Education Guidelines. The document outlines the subjects or topics that learning programs must address to be considered HSW CE.

Download the CE Guidelines

NCARB’s new CE Guidelines explains what continuing education is, details why lifelong learning is important, and explores types of learning programs. In addition, the document outlines sample topics under each of the six areas of practice identified by the 2012 Practice Analysis of Architecture, which also helped inform the Architectural Experience Program® (AXP®) and the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®) 5.0.

What is continuing education?

Continuing education is post-licensure learning that enables architects to increase or update their knowledge and skills. Continuing education programs focused on HSW are an integral part of the lifelong learning required to provide competent service to the public.

Because the profession of architecture is characterized by rapid expansion of knowledge and impacted by advances in technology—among other changes—it is essential that architects maintain and enhance their professional competence continuously.

Earn Free CE

Because most of the 55 U.S. jurisdictions require architects to earn continuing education before each license renewal, NCARB offers free CE mini-monograph courses to architects who hold an active NCARB Certificate. These courses offer architects an independent, cost-effective way to earn continuing education hours in HSW at their own convenience. Each mini-monograph includes a short article and related quiz, offering 1 to 2.5 HSW continuing education hours (CEHs). Learn more.

Changes to NCARB’s Monographs  

Starting September 1, 2019, quizzes for NCARB’s long-format monographs will no longer be available, although NCARB will continue to offer mini-monographs. NCARB is also in the process of updating the number of learning units (LUs) architects can earn for each mini-monograph to align with the AIA’s new standards. Courses downloaded prior to these revisions will be eligible for the previously listed LUs for quizzes completed through September 1.