National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) President Joseph P. Giattina, Jr., FAIA (1999-2000) awarded the Presidential Medal to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare through service to the Council. The presentation was made at the final event of his presidency, at the close of NCARB's 2000 Annual Meeting and Conference in Chicago.

The Presidential Medal award was established in 1994 to recognize individuals who dedicate a large part of their careers, energy and wisdom to benefit the work of NCARB, the public and the architecture profession. This year the recipient of this honor was Kathyrn Tyler Prigmore, AIA.

Prigmore has served on the Virginia Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects with professionalism and leadership since 1993. She has made significant contributions to NCARB's mission through her work as a member, grader, coordinator, and chair of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) Subcommittee, as vice-chair for the ARE Preparation Subcommittee, and as a member and co-chair of the Committee on Examinations.

Prigmore is a senior associate at Einhorn Yaffee Prescott—the 13th largest A/E firm in the nation—based in Washington, DC. She is also an associate professor of architecture and design at the Howard University College of Engineering, Architecture, and Computer Sciences.