2010 President’s Medal Awarded to Seven for Their Service to the Public and the Profession Through NCARB

Washington, DC—The highest honor bestowed upon architectural professionals by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB)—the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service—went to three deserving individuals at the organization’s 2010 Annual Meeting and Conference, held in San Francisco, CA.

In announcing the recipients, 2009-2010 NCARB President Andrew W. Prescott, AIA, praised the medal winners for their commitment to the architectural profession and to the organization whose mission is to protect the public’s health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of standards for licensure and credentialing.

Credited with guiding a broad enhancement of services for the sake of architectural interns over the past four years, the Council’s Director, IDP Harry M. Falconer Jr., AIA, NCARB, received the award for his leadership in the Intern Development Program (IDP). His achievements include facilitating a much needed update of the program to be more aligned with the current architectural practices and initiating an outreach effort to help architectural students and interns across the country stay informed about important developments related to the path to licensure. The IDP was raised to a directorate level at NCARB under his leadership.

Scott C. Veazey, AIA, NCARB, of Evansville, IN, was recognized for more than two decades of dedicated service as a member, chair, and Board liaison to numerous committees. He has served as regional director (Region 4), secretary, treasurer, and second vice president of the Council Board of Directors. By virtue of his election to first vice president/president-elect at the 2010 Annual Meeting and Conference, he will become the Council’s president in July 2011. He is also leading the task force for the search for NCARB’s next chief executive officer to replace Lenore Lucey, FAIA, NCARB, CAE, in 2011. Veazey was also a long-time member of the Indiana Board of Architects and Landscape Architects.

The NCARB’s President’s Medal was presented to Linda Montgomery, Ph.D., of Princeton, NJ, whose psychometric research and analytical skills have raised the standards of the organization’s work with interns and young professionals. In both 2001 and 2007, Montgomery contributed her expert knowledge and tireless energy to produce the Practice Analyses of Architecture, the Council’s in-depth study of what it takes to practice architecture independently. She has been a guiding force in linking that research with the IDP and the Emerging Professional’s Companion (EPC).

In addition, four individuals were honored with the President’s Medal for their significant contributions to the Tri-National Agreement between the United States, Canada, and Mexico in spring 2010.

In appreciation for his work to improve the acceptance of certified architects’ credentials across North America, the President’s Medal was awarded to Lizandro de la Garza Villareal, Intl. Assoc. AIA. Villareal has been a strong supporter of the Council for the Tri-National Practice of Architecture, and recently championed a series of cross-border meetings to more rapidly advance mutual recognition between Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Villareal, of Monterrey, Nuevo León, is president of the Federation of Colleges of Architects for the Republic of Mexico. He has served as a professor of architecture at the University of Nuevo León for 35 years.

Gerrie Doyle, OAA, MRAIC, was awarded the medal for helping to forge new opportunities for both architects and NCARB across national boundaries. The Council is indebted to Doyle for her service as a champion of the shared vision of credentialing and reciprocity between Canada, the United States, and Mexico. Doyle, of Toronto, ON, Canada, is president of the Ontario Association of Architects and chair of the International Committee of the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities.

For his outstanding contributions to NCARB’s relationships with architectural counterparts to the north and south of the United States, the President’s Medal was awarded to David Edwards, FRAIC, Hon. FAIA, MSAA, of Regina, SK, Canada. Edwards was cited for his commitment to the mission of the Tri-National Committee and its goal to maintain mutual relationships for the architectural profession across North America. He has also contributed to the efforts of NCARB’s Committee on Examination, for which he has been an observer since 2007. Edwards serves on the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities and previously chaired the Committee on Canadian Architectural Councils.

The President’s Medal went to Luis Enrique López Cardiel for his accomplishments in unifying and improving NCARB efforts and relationships with its representatives in Canada, the United States, and Mexico. His service on the Tri-National Committee has helped ensure high standards and shared vision and operations for current and future architects working anywhere in North America. Cardiel, of Cuahtémoc, Mexico, is the foreign affairs secretary of the Federation of Colleges of Architects for the Republic of Mexico.

The President’s Medal, first awarded in 1994, recognizes those individuals who dedicate a considerable part of their careers, energy, and wisdom to benefit the public and the architectural profession.