On June 19, 2020, members from the 55 U.S. architecture licensing boards convened virtually for NCARB’s 2020 Annual Business Meeting. The virtual meeting enabled NCARB’s members to conduct essential business and prepare for the organization’s new fiscal year, which begins July 1. During the meeting, attendees elected the FY21 NCARB Board of Directors, received important updates on NCARB initiatives, and discussed hot topics through a virtual town hall.

In addition, attendees gathered with their individual regions prior to the virtual meeting to consider local issues and shared agenda items for the coming year.

Reflecting on FY20
FY20 NCARB President Terry L. Allers, FAIA, NCARB, Hon. FCARM, welcomed attendees and announced the 2020 recipients of the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service, NCARB’s highest honor.

Later, he reflected on the progress made toward furthering NCARB’s mission during FY20, celebrating new and deepening partnerships with related organizations, expanding resources for training Architectural Experience Program® (AXP®) supervisors, and ongoing work to support diversity in the architecture profession, among others.

“Discussions regarding the future of regulation and the future of NCARB—including NCARB culture as it relates to diversity, equity, and inclusion—are exposing, and in some cases unearthing, critical topics that require thoughtful and forward-thinking action,” said Allers. “Together we can make an important contribution to each Member Board’s work, to each licensure candidate’s path, and to each practitioner’s ability to practice across jurisdictional boundaries.”

Understanding Current Status
Attendees received an update on NCARB’s current financial status from Treasurer Bayliss Ward, NCARB, AIA. This report will be available as part of NCARB’s upcoming FY20 Annual Report, which will be released later in 2020.

In addition, NCARB CEO Michael Armstrong provided an update regarding progress made on key staff initiatives during the past fiscal year, including an emphasis on the basics of NCARB programs, enhanced services for licensing boards, and advocacy.

“We face several new challenges and opportunities as NCARB steps into its second century. Our organization is prepared to respond to these strategically,” said Armstrong. “Through introspection regarding our role and our response to the challenge of inclusion, and future-focused planning regarding our evolving programs and services, we will further our mission to serve the public by best equipping our Member Boards to regulate the profession.” 

Attendees had the opportunity to ask leadership questions through a virtual town hall, including how the ongoing coronavirus is impacting NCARB programs and services, exam development, and diversity.

Looking to the Future
Incoming FY21 NCARB President Robert M. Calvani, FAIA, NCARB, shared his vision for the year ahead with attendees. During his term, Calvani will focus on ongoing challenges in the regulatory world such as incidental practice and responsible charge, as well as an embrace of emerging issues, including equity, diversity, and inclusion; the upcoming Analysis of Practice; and remote proctoring for the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®).

“We have great momentum behind our ability to be agile, to embrace new approaches, and to better communicate the value of our work—but there is certainly more to do,” said Calvani. “We’re moving into a new fiscal year with a strong foundation but a sober focus on how to best support current and future initiatives.”

FY21 Board of Directors
Delegates voted on candidates running for national office and director positions. Newly elected members of the FY21 NCARB Board of Directors include: 

  • President Robert M. Calvani, FAIA, NCARB
  • First Vice President/President-elect Alfred Vidaurri Jr., FAIA, NCARB, AICP
  • Second Vice President Bayliss Ward, NCARB, AIA
  • Treasurer Jon Alan Baker, FAIA, NCARB
  • Secretary Kenneth R. Van Tine, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP
  • Region 1 Director Janet L. Hansen, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP
  • Region 2 Director Philip M. Leinbach, AIA
  • Region 4 Director John Patrick Rademacher, AIA, NCARB
  • Region 5 Director David W. Hornbeek, AIA, NCARB
  • Public Director Gary R. Ey, CDT

Meet the FY21 Board of Directors.