Handling the operation of examination, licensure, reciprocity is larger than the work of one national board. To help meet the needs of the profession, NCARB’s membership is divided into six regions; each U.S. architectural licensing board belongs to one of these regions.

The regional structure helps streamline the management of licensure and reciprocity details and provides jurisdictions with a space to make decisions on issues specific to their location.

Each region elects a director and a chair, who serve on the NCARB Board of Directors and Regional Chairs Committee, respectively.

Region 1 – New England

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Director: Stephen D. Schreiber, FAIA, NCARB (Massachusetts)
Chair: Janet L. Hansen, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP (Maine)

Region 2 – Middle-Atlantic

Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia
Director: Paul D. Edmeades, RA, AIA, NCARB (Maryland)
Chair: Philip M. Leinbach, NCARB, AIA, REFP, CSI (Pennsylvania)

Region 3 – Southern

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Director: Robert W. McKinney, Ed.D., NCARB (Louisiana)
Chair: Richard H. McNeel AIA, NCARB, IIDA, LEED AP (Mississippi)

Region 4 – Mid-Central 

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin
Director: Kenneth R. VanTine, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP (Michigan)
Chair: John P. Rademacher, AIA, NCARB (Ohio)

Region 5 – Central States 

Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Wyoming
Director: Ricky L. Engebretson, AIA, NCARB (North Dakota)
Chair: David W. Hornbeek, AIA, NCARB (Oklahoma)

Region 6 – Western 

Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, the Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Utah, Washington
Director: Edward T. Marley, NCARB AIA, LEED AP (Arizona)
Chair:  Scott E. Harm, NCARB, AIA (Washington)