Collateral Organizations

We collaborate with four other organizations to keep the architecture profession moving forward. Each of these collaterals is responsible for a different aspect of the profession’s health.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA)
AIA is a professional organization for architects. Membership in the AIA is open to all registered architects and licensure candidates. The AIA serves the architecture profession and is a resource for its members through advocacy, information, and community.

The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)
AIAS is an independent, student-run organization that promotes excellence in architecture education, training, and practice. The AIAS serves as the voice of students to the educational system and the profession of architecture. AIAS representatives serve on NAAB accreditation teams and on the boards of directors for AIA and ACSA.

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)
ACSA represents architectural education programs worldwide, including all of the accredited degree programs in the United States and Canada. The ACSA works to advance the quality of architectural education by encouraging dialogue among the diverse areas of discipline on issues that will affect the architectural profession in the future.

The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)
NAAB establishes the criteria by which professional degree programs in architecture in the United States are evaluated and accredits programs that meet those standards. Since most state registration boards in the United States require any applicant for licensure to have graduated from a NAAB-accredited program, obtaining such a degree is an essential aspect of preparing for the professional practice of architecture.

Other Related Organizations

In addition to our collaterals, we also work with several other organizations related to the practice of architecture and regulation, as well as our counterpart organizations in engineering, landscape architecture, and interior design.

The Association of Licensed Architects (ALA)
ALA is an organization open to all architects and professions related to architecture, and is a resource for professionals employed by small to mid-size architecture firms. It represents architects licensed in any state, territory, or profession in the United States or foreign country. ALA offers products and services that enable architects to stay current with industry best practices, maintain their licenses, and provide quality service to the public.

The Council for Interior Design Qualifications (CIDQ)
The CIDQ is NCARB’s counterpart in the interior design profession; it protects the public’s health, safety, and welfare by certifying interior design professionals in the United States and Canada.

The Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB)
CLARB is NCARB’s counterpart in the landscape architecture profession, working to protect the public’s health, safety, and welfare by establishing and promoting professional licensure standards in landscape architecture.

Federation of Associations of Regulatory Boards (FARB)
FARB is a nonprofit corporation formed to promote public protection and provide a forum for information exchange between associations of regulatory boards and their affiliate stakeholders with interests in professional regulation. Several members of NCARB’s management team serve in FARB leadership positions.

International Code Council (ICC)
The ICC is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build, and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable, and resilient structures. Most U.S. and many global communities use the International Codes® developed by the ICC.

The National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES)
The NCEES is NCARB’s counterpart in the engineering and surveying professions, dedicated to protecting the public’s health, safety, and welfare by advancing professional licensure for engineers and surveyors.

The National Organization of Minority Architects (NOMA)
NOMA is a volunteer organization dedicated to championing diversity within the design professions by promoting the excellence, community engagement, and professional development of its members.

The Society of American Registered Architects (SARA)
SARA is a vibrant professional organization of architects and industry related partners with active councils and chapters throughout the country, as well as international members. SARA focuses on fellowship, friendship, and mentorship.

Society for Design Administration (SDA)
SDA promotes excellence in design firm management by providing continuing education, best management practices, and training on professional standards to help design firm personnel grow professionally.