Handling the operation of examination, licensure, and reciprocity is larger than the work of one national board. To help meet the needs of the profession, NCARB’s membership is divided into six regions; each U.S. architectural licensing board belongs to one of these regions.

The regional structure helps streamline the management of licensure and reciprocity details and provides jurisdictions with a space to make decisions on issues specific to their location.

Serving on regional leadership is often a first step toward joining NCARB's Board of Directors. Each region elects a director and a chair, who serve on the NCARB Board of Directors and Regional Leadership Committee, respectively.

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Director: Jennifer R. Arbuckle, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP (Vermont)
Chair: Thomas D. Lonardo, RA, NCARB (Rhode Island)

Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia
Director: George H. Miller, FAIA, NCARB (New York)
Chair: Edward W. Tucker, FAIA, NCARB (West Virginia)

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Director: Miguel A. Rodriguez, FAIA, NCARB (Florida)
Chair: Catherine C. Morrison, NCARB, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, NOMA (North Carolina)

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin
Director: Margaret (Meg) Sturgis-Graff Parsons, FAIA, NCARB, ALEP, LEED AP BD+C (Minnesota)
Chair: Linda Alfson Schemmel, AIA, NCARB (Iowa)

Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Wyoming
Director: Lenora A. Nelson, NCARB, AIA, LEED AP BD+C (Nebraska)
Chair: James Devine, NCARB, AIA, LEED AP (North Dakota)

Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, the Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Utah, Washington
Director: Scott E. Harm, AIA, NCARB (Washington)
Chair: Catherine Fritz, AIA (Alaska)