National Architect Council Names Recipients of 2005 President's Medal for Distinguished Service

Washington, DC-Frank M. Guillot, AIA, the 2004-2005 president of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, recently awarded the NCARB President's Medal for Distinguished Service to six individuals associated with the Council who have made significant contributions to the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare through their service to NCARB and to the practice of architecture.

The 2005 medalists were honored at the close of NCARB's 86th Annual Meeting and Conference held last month in Miami Beach, Florida. The President's Medal was first awarded in 1994 in order to recognize those individuals who dedicate a large part of their careers, energy, and wisdom to benefit the public and the architectural profession.

Cornelius "Kin" DuBois, AIA, a Denver, Colorado-based architect, was recognized for his long-standing efforts to assist broadly experienced architects seeking to qualify for the NCARB Certificate. A well-known figure in the Denver architecture community, DuBois is a principal at klipp, an award-winning architecture, planning, and interiors firm founded in 1979. A tireless volunteer and officer for NCARB, DuBois served as a member of the NCARB Board of Directors from 2000-2002, as Regional Chair for the Western Conference, and as a member of the Colorado Board of Examiners of Architects for eight years, where he was twice elected as board president.

Charles H. Henley, NAA, of St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada, was recognized for his distinguished service as Chair of the Committee of Canadian Architectural Councils (CCAC), and as Canada's highly respected representative to the Tri- National Committee, whose purpose is to "fulfill the challenge of maintaining international mutual relationships…with the architectural mutual recognition of credentials as a final goal." Henley, a principal of the PHB Group Inc., has shown exceptional collegial skills while working in synchrony with his counterparts from NCARB and Mexico's Federation of Schools of Architecture (FCARM) toward facilitating the mutual recognition of architects from the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

Fernando Mora Mora, of Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico, was recognized for his distinguished service both to the Council and to the furtherance of the mission of the Tri-National Committee, whose purpose is to "fulfill the challenge of maintaining international mutual relationships…with the architectural mutual recognition of credentials as a final goal." Mora Mora, president of La Federación Nacional de Colegios de Arquitectos de la Republica Mexicana (FCARM), has distinguished himself through his significant contributions as Mexico's representative and
skilled negotiator in the Tri-National Committee's ongoing deliberations. Attesting to his achievements, both the American Institute of Architects and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada have accorded him honorary membership.

William R. Ponko, AIA, of Mishawaka, Indiana, has devoted a generous portion of his time to the development of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE), having served on numerous NCARB committees since 1992. Ponko served five three-year terms on the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency Board of Registration for Architects and Landscape Architects between 1990 and 2004. As a principal of The Troyer Group since 1977, Ponko has been involved in hundreds of projects throughout the United States and has been consistently recognized for his excellence in planning, design, and use of materials.

Jan B. Simpson, of Columbia, South Carolina, is the highly respected board executive for the South Carolina Board of Architectural Examiners and administrator for the South Carolina Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. Simpson served on the NCARB Member Board Executives Committee for three consecutive years, serving as its chair in 2003-2004. She also served on the IDP Coordinating Committee and the Committee on the Intern Development Program as well the NCARB Pretesting Subcommittee for the ARE.

Peter Steffian, FAIA, of Boston, Massachusetts, was recognized for his record as an NCARB leader and for the legacy he leaves the profession of architecture as the visionary behind the NCARB Prize for Creative Integration of Practice and Education in the Academy. Steffian, Chairman of the Board and principal of Steffian Bradley Architects, an award-winning firm based in Boston, with offices in London, has served the Council in every conceivable leadership post since his appointment in 1989 to the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Architects. He has served as Chair of the Massachusetts Board; Chair of the New England Region; Region 1 Director on the NCARB Board, and was elected as the Council's Treasurer, Second Vice President, First Vice President, and President. During those years, Steffian distinguished himself as a consensus-builder while serving on more than 10 committees. During his 40 years in practice, Steffian has designed, planned, and managed continuing care, residential, office, medical, commercial, and institutional projects.